A Question for Waitresses

Okay so I have this thing… I have this thing where I seem to be attracted to girls in the service industries (get your head out of the gutter fellas). For instance, I think the girl who cuts my hair is really cute, I have exchanged phone numbers with a waitress in the past month, and I’m currently going on dates here or there with a girl who works at a clothing store.

To make things worse, I am crushin’ big time on this waitress near my place. Don’t worry, I’m not getting hammered and using cheesy pick-up lines. In fact, I have been playing it real cool. My buddy and I went to this sports bar a couple of times in the past three days. I’ve joked around with her a bit, asked about stuff she is interested in, talked about her future plans, etc. etc.

The last time I was there she hinted that she might be getting off early (like 12:30-1:00am). I was planning on being out still so in a very respectful, polite way said that I’d leave my number in case she did get off early and wanted to join us.

She didn’t call.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t see this as a bad thing really… she may have been bogged down after all or maybe she got off at 1:45am and figured it was too late. But I really think she may be interested… and I’ve been trying everything not to blow it.

How do I know she is interested? Well this is where it gets tricky… because service industry people are more flirty naturally. But let me lay it out there and any waitresses reading this, help me out:

  1. she came to the table to chat (for about 5min) without me even calling for her attention… upon which we’d joke around, laugh, and talk about random “filler” things that people do when they are flirting
  2. I ordered a beer she never had and when she asked how I liked it I offered her some… to my surprise, she looked around for a manager then took a quick sip and said she liked it
  3. She seemed honestly okay with me giving her my number when I was leaving

So now what? I plan on going in to eat there again eventually… and since she has told me her schedule (every day but sunday), I know I’ll see her again. I was just gonna play it cool and have friendly conversation but nothing more.

Any other advice?

oh and if you are reading this and happen to be the waitress I am talking about… I understand that any chance I had with you is now over.

6 Responses to “A Question for Waitresses”

  1. Weeeelll. . .usually it goes this way: us girls in the service industry are paid (by you) to be nice (to you) so when a waitress/bartender, etc flirts with you, you shouldn’t take it too seriously.

    However.

    The fact that so came to your table apropos of nothing and tried your beer and talked with you for several minutes (a great feat given the busy nature of the job) certainly says something.

    I would go back there a couple more times and see if the dynamic is perpetuated. If so, she’s got your number already and she’ll either call or she won’t. If she seems standoffish in the slightest, back off. That tells you she was just doing her job before.

    Good Luck to you. It’ll work out.

  2. Next time you ‘invite’ her to some occasion, let her know how you’d feel if she could come.

  3. […] with someone I was REALLY crushing on – just more spur of the moment, no expectation type deals.  If things work out with this waitress girl, then I will probably be real […]

  4. […] would be a bust, things turned out to be pretty damn good!  I went to the restaurant to finally ask out the waitress that I have been crushing on, but sadly it was her day off.  This sucks because I am heading out of town for a while and I was […]

  5. […] Crap, it WORKED!!!!! So pumped right now… SO pumped!  As you may recall, I have been talking about this waitress that I have been interested in.  I was presented with a dilemma on how to ask her out since she […]

  6. Remarkable issues here. I’m very glad to peer your post. Thanks so much and I am looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

Leave a comment