Complimenting Power

It wasn’t until recently that I realized the significance of the insignificant. Of course, I am referring to the everyday compliment. The past few months I have been dishing out more compliments to girls I am friends with and the ones I am dating… and man, they eat it UP!

I don’t think us guys compliment girls enough because when I do dish one out, it changes their mood completely – it’s a weird phenomenon.

For example, I was going in to get my haircut the other day. While waiting for my stylist to finish up, I noticed she was looking really good. She had on one of those yellow, t-shirt material dresses that went down to just above her knees. I definately find her attractive, and wouldn’t even mind a date with her, but over the past year her and I have just been friends… only seeing each other when I come in every 6 weeks for a clean up.

Well, she came over to get me and as we were walking to the seat, I said:

I really like you dress, it looks great on you

Thats it. That is all I said. But man, you would have thought I just gave her three dozen fresh roses! She lit up immediately and became more chatty, quick to giggle, and overall flirty with me the entire time I was there!

Needless to say, complimenting has some major advantages. I highly recommend it… and girls, do it to guys as well. No one compliments anyone these days, so when you do, it makes you stick out (in a good way). If you’re gonna compliment a guy, say something about his muscles or ability to fix/do something. This may seem kind of cliche, but us guys like to be recognized for those types of things (why do think guys are always trying to fix a problem instead of just listen to the problem! It’s how our minds work).

Something along the lines of, “your shoulders look really big in that shirt” will do just fine… Or perhaps, “I can’t believe you were able to fix that so quick”. I promise you that it will work wonders.

As for the fellas, start complimenting the ladies on how they look. Besides, they put in a lot of effort to look good … let them know you noticed!

I can only speak from my experience, but after dishing out compliments on clothing, hair, smiles, etc., I have had a lot more success in getting dates. Just a thought.

9 Responses to “Complimenting Power”

  1. You crack me up…you are learning! And yes, compliments tend to work wonders, especially on us older women! πŸ™‚

  2. Fantastic tip. I’ll keep that in mind πŸ˜‰

  3. hahaha…..I can’t WAIT to comment on some random dude’s big and burly shoulders…..look out world! πŸ˜‰

    But seriously, I eat up that compliment stuff like Cadbury’s Chocolate…mmm πŸ˜‰

  4. Good tip about complimenting here. Question – what do you do when a girl says negative things about herself, but only to get a “reaction compliment”? She really just wants the guy to say she’s hot. Is that annoying to guys or not?

    • What do I observe most of the time is either she is in low-esteem mode or she just wanna see whether the guy compliment trying to get her attention, especially the Hot Ones…
      But no, we won’t give compliments that easily…
      A guy will see whether she is an Attractive enough individual, before deserve to be complimented.. πŸ™‚

  5. abarclay… i know what you’re talking about… it depends on who it’s from. if it is from the girl who always does it… then yes, it is annoying and I personally just don’t say anything. But if it’s a friend or gf or something, then i know they are just having an insecure moment and ill pump them up.

    all in all though, it def is annoying when ppl fish for compliments

  6. girls love compliments partly because it’s the language they use to speak to each other. we can ease tension by simply saying “wow, that’s an amazing sweater.” we can start conversation with a stranger by asking about her leg warmers. it’s a weird phenomenon.

  7. Compliments can get a person EVERYWHERE and SOMEWHERE!!!!

  8. Thats it. That is all I said. But man, you would have thought I just gave her three dozen fresh roses!

    and not all women dig roses or diamonds.

    Complimenting a women’s attire (including shoes, hair accessories, and other forms of decorative or functional jewelry), indicates that you are approve of her choices in visual self-presentation. and if she thinks you’re sporting nice threads yourself, she’ll be even more appreciative.

    unless she doesn’t take too well to compliments and gets all absurdly modest and “oh, no i dont/it’s nothing.”

Leave a comment